AW

Multi-Tasking

In Family, Pursuit of Happiness on February 10, 2010 at 5:38 pm

There never seems to be enough hours in the day to get everything done.  For that matter, it seems as if we could use more days in the week, and while we’re at it, maybe an extra week in each month.  Our lives are so busy nowadays, that there is pressure on us to do more than one thing at a time (a/k/a “multitasking”).  I hyphenated the word in the title because it just looks strange as one word, although it is a perfectly acceptable spelling.  However, when I look quickly at the word, my mind sees it as “mullet asking.” Obviously, this is not the case.  Although, there is one question that can be asked about mullets – (“Why do they still exist?”).  But I digress.

Some people look at “multi-tasking” as a positive attribute, while others see it as an inability to focus on one thing at a time.  I don’t remember hearing much about A.D.D. (Attention Deficit Disorder) when I was a kid.  While I don’t doubt that it exists, I wonder if it is more common now because of the way that we act as a society.  Personally, I’m on the fence.  I think that “multi-tasking” can be positive or negative depending on the situation.

Yesterday, I had a situation to deal with that required “multi-tasking.” My son and I were going to go for a walk to get some exercise.  Since we had so much fun walking to the field to play football the other day, we decided to bring the football with us to have a catch as we walked.  It makes things more interesting.  However, my daughter felt like she was being left out, so she wanted to come also.  My wife was busy preparing dinner, so it was just going to be the three of us.

My son had a dejected look on his face because he thought that it meant that I wouldn’t be able to throw the football with him as we walked (while simultaneously pushing my daughter in her stroller).  Not wanting to disappoint either of my children, I decided that I would figure out a way to do both.  My son carried the football…I strapped my daughter in her stroller…and we were off.  We were about 100 feet from the house when I threw my first pass to my son, while using my other arm to push the stroller.  Perfect pass…perfect catch…no problem!

We continued our catch as we walked, using lampposts, trees, fire hydrants and the like as markers.  As we got to the path around the pond, we had to tone it down a bit.  Even if it weren’t freezing out, I had no desire to fish a waterlogged ball out of the pond.  My daughter likes to play football with us in the house, so I figured that this would be a good time to her more involved.

For reasons that we still have not figured out, my daughter believes that a football play should start by bellowing out “TEAM HUTT!” However, before she does that, she insists on taking the “necessary” safety precaution by putting on my son’s baseball helmet.  After all, everyone knows how dangerous living room football can be!

Since we couldn’t throw the ball by the pond, I instructed my daughter to say “TEAM HUTT!” to start the play.  I told my son that he was going to run the ball with me (pushing the stroller) as his lead blocker.  My daughter excitedly shouted “TEAM HUTT!”…and I took off running.  I ran just a shade under full speed down the path as my daughter shrieked with delight.  My son caught up to us, huffing and puffing, but none the worse for wear.

As the walk progressed, I took turns between passing the football to my son, and running with the stroller to entertain my daughter.  Thanks to “multi-tasking,” the walk was far more entertaining than I could have imagined.  It was also far more exhausting.  You would think that the exhaustion would have been limited to my son and me (because we were doing all of the running).  However, as we approached our home, I told my daughter that I would run one more time.  Her response… “That’s good, Daddy…because I’m getting tired!” My son and I just looked at each other and laughed.  By far, the most fun that I’ve had exercising in a very long time!

Leave a Reply

