AW

Take the Long Way Home

In Family, Inspiration and Motivation, Life Lessons, Pursuit of Happiness on February 4, 2010 at 2:20 pm

Sometimes, the moments in life that seem very insignificant at the time, in retrospect, turn out to be very memorable.  My kids never got the chance to meet my dad, so the only way that they can get to know him is through the stories that I share with them.  Often times, I find myself telling them about the little things that made my dad who he was, rather than the milestone moments that are easily remembered.

While driving in the car with my son a few days ago, the song “Take the Long Way Home” by Supertramp came on the radio.  It took me back to a time over 30 years ago when I heard it on the car radio with my dad.  On that afternoon, it was our turn in the carpool, and we were dropping off some neighborhood kids on our way home.  When the song came on the radio, I said “I love this song”… “Take the Long Way Home.” Understandably, he thought that I meant that I wanted him to drive home the long way because I wanted to hear the song that I loved.  We had a good laugh that day, and my son and I shared the same laugh this week.  The next time that he hears the song, I have no doubt that he’ll think about Poppy and smile.

Lately, I’ve found myself actually taking the long way home while out walking in my pursuit of health.  I used to take the shortest route possible, but now I look for ways to make my walk last longer so that I can get the most out of it.  Although I do this to get more exercise, I have to admit that the first time that I did it there was a song playing on Pandora that I wanted to listen to because I hadn’t heard it in a long time.  I believe that it was “November Rain” (a 9-minute song) by Guns N Roses.  Although, it would have been better for this story if the song was actually “Take the Long Way Home.”

Some days, I am tempted to take the shortest route home, but I force myself to stretch out the walk as much as possible.  Yesterday was a perfect example.  Just as I left the house to start walking, it began to rain.  As the walk progressed, the rain grew more intense.  Although it never got to a point where it would have been absurd to be out walking, I could have very easily justified cutting the walk short because of the rain.  But I didn’t because of my change in mindset.

This is a lesson that I can carry forward to other aspects my life as well.  There are times when I want to just get to where I am going as fast as I can, so I look for shortcuts.  However, some things can’t be rushed, and other things shouldn’t be rushed.  It is said that life is a journey…not a destination.  I believe this to be true.  So, the next time that I think about taking a shortcut in life, I will think about my dad, and “Take the Long Way Home” instead!

  1. Adam… your writing is simply wonderful. The way that you think and explain those thoughts is simply poetic. You have such a way of drawing us into the story and allowing us to feel like we are right there with you. Thanks for sharing your world with us.

    And by the way… I love that song too!

  2. Nicely penned … keyed? Frost would like it.

  3. Nice one mate. Thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

