AW

Perspective

In Inspiration and Motivation, Life Lessons, Pursuit of Happiness on January 7, 2010 at 5:18 pm

Yesterday was one of those days that didn’t turn out as planned. When I started this journey, I predicted that there would be good days and bad days. It’s been less than a week, and the first bad day has already happened. Nothing terrible, mind you, just the little annoyances that seem to snowball when you’re not having the best day.

It was the first day that I didn’t get out and walk at least a mile or two because I was tied up with some pressing matters. For all of the time that I spent being inactive, it’s amazing how quickly the guilt set in for missing one day of walking. But I’m glad that I felt that way. If I’m going to make the changes that I want to make, I need to hold myself accountable, avoid making excuses and make it happen!

So exercise took a back seat for a day, but I did get to speak to a few people that I’ve been looking to catch up with for a while.  Although each of them is dealing with issues that are making their lives difficult, we found several opportunities to make jokes and laugh. As the old saying goes…“laughter is the best medicine.” Maybe it is, but I think that perspective is a close second.

My day was annoying yesterday, but nothing that happened even comes close to the issues that the people that I spoke to are facing. By the time that I was ready to go to bed, I realized that my day wasn’t so bad after all. Even though I fell behind a little in my pursuit of health, I did make progress on some projects that I am working on, so that was a positive.

Today, it is unseasonably cold in Texas (the coldest that it’s been in 14 years). The weather has dipped below freezing into the high 20’s. They talk about this on the local weather with the same frantic tones that they use in New York when a blizzard is on the way. In fact, I saw one report that said that it’s possible that the temperature would stay below freezing for around 85 consecutive hours. Hours? What kind of weather forecast talks about hours instead of days? It’s not even that cold – from MY perspective.

As a proud New Yorker who already missed a day of exercise, there was no way that I was going to be deterred from walking on a winter day in Texas, even though the cold provided an easy excuse to do so. I put on the New York Islanders jacket that I bought last year (which I didn’t think that I’d get to use in Texas), strapped on the headphones, cranked up the music and started walking. However, singing along to the music as I usually do was challenging. The wind whipped down my throat, forcing me to literally “swallow my words.”

With each step, I felt the chilling wind penetrating my sweatpants and numbing my feet as it filtered through the mesh on my sneakers. Last week, I would have turned right back around and called it a day (had I even gotten out the door in the first place). But this year, I am determined not to let anything stand in the way of my pursuit of health, wealth and “happyness.”

It’s amazing how much you can change your life just by changing your perspective!

  1. As your “unofficial” podiatrist, I recommend that you purchase a pair of New Balance ALL LEATHER sneakers. Any model over the 700 or 800 series is made in the USA, I think, and are of better quality. I can’t tell you how much frostbite I see each winter. As much as I enjoy a nice amputation, I don’t enjoy seeing it happen to my friends. 🙂 Keep on truckin’. 🙂

    • Thanks for your concern, Audra. I don’t think that I’m at much of a risk for frostbite down here, but it’s good to know about which running shoes are the best. I’m a fan of New Balance already. I’ll have to look into those.

  2. Oh yeah! You change your own perspective just a little, maybe 10 degrees difference from where you were looking before and wham! The whole thing changes, funny part is no one else changed, just how YOU look at it. That was one of the most valuable things I ever learned, and I still have to re-learn it over and over. Stay warm my friend!

Leave a Reply

