AW

Seize the Day!

In Inspiration and Motivation, Pursuit of Happiness on January 3, 2010 at 9:35 pm

The holidays have come to an end, and most people will be returning back to their pre-holiday routines – usually referred to as “the grind.” This year, the first day back to work and school falls on a Monday, which will undoubtedly make getting out of bed that much more difficult for many. When you factor in the cold front that is blanketing a good portion of the country, it’s very likely that people are dreading the sound of the alarm clock ringing in the morning.

Feeling the effects of holiday hangover is perfectly understandable. After all, there is so much build-up leading up to the holidays. The almost tangible sense of peace and hope in the air seems to fade in an instant. And though people claim to look at the New Year as a chance for a fresh start, the reality is that most lose that sense of optimism very quickly. Until this year, I was exactly the same way, but I am committed to making 2010 the year that my hopes and dreams come to fruition.

Instead of looking at this time of year as returning to “the grind,” I am excited about tomorrow and the days that will follow. If you’ve read my first post, “Beyond Resolutions,” you’ll understand why I feel this way. It may sound cliché, but recent events have inspired me to truly live my life to the fullest. However, I don’t expect that every day is going to go smoothly. I know for a fact that there are going to be bad days and bumps in the road. It’s all part of my journey.

“Seize the day or die regretting the time you lost” – lyrics from a song by the band Avenged Sevenfold (released in June of 2005). Last week, the 28-year old drummer of the band, James Owen Sullivan, died at the age of 28. On December 11th, Olivia Grace Armand earned her angel wings (10 days before her 5th birthday). She is the inspiration for a poem that I recently posted on Facebook called “TIME.” Please take a moment to read the poem below. Hopefully it will help you to seize the day and embrace the New Year too!

TIME

Before you wish the days away

Realize how precious they are

There’s only so many that each of us have

Until we’re floating amongst the stars

Don’t look at Mondays with sorrow and dread

They make up nearly fifteen percent of your life

Don’t hate the alarm clock that gets you out of bed

It lets you know that you’re still alive

Don’t look forward to the end of a season

Because you think it’s too hot or too cold

Don’t ever let weather be the reason

For you to put your life on hold

Maybe your life isn’t what you thought it would be

When you dreamed of it as a kid

Do what you can to make it that way

For you may regret that you never did

Time marches on for better or worse

It never speeds up or slows down

There’s only so much that you get on this earth

Make the most of it while you’re around

Today is all that any of us have

There’s no guarantee of tomorrow

So don’t spend your time wishing the days away

It can only end in sorrow

Live every day as if it’s your last

Embrace winter, spring, summer and fall

Time goes by on its own much too fast

It needs no help at all…

By Adam Waldman (12/16/09)

  1. Adam,
    Your poem is beautiful…what a gentle reminder to all of us about how precious our lives are and that we do ultimately hold the keys to our own happiness. We are in the drivers seat. Happiness is ours, if we so choose to own it.

    A little known fact about me: I adopted my kids. My son was almost 7 when he entered my life. He had been in over 30 foster homes and came to me from the Salvation Army shelter, where he had lived for months. No one “wanted him” because he had a few emotional issues. They claimed that he was a throw away child. Sick…I thought a child was never worth throwing away. Still don’t. Spring forward 15 years. Little did I know that I could not “fix” him, or “teach” him to love himself. At times I honestly wondered if there would ever be any good memories…the heart break that ensued with Kyle was at times unbearable, or so I thought. I didn’t know that trying to raise a child that truly had no passion for living or for others would be so difficult. I believe all things happen for a reason and my belief is that this little guy was sent to me because I would NOT give up on him. Never have and never will.

    I am going to send a copy of your poem to my son and pray that it touches him. He is getting better…instead of one step forward and 2 back, he is now 2 forward and one back. That is miraculous in my opinion. He is in my heart and I love him so very much.

    Today must be a day of reflecting back on my life with Kyle. I’ve had so many reminders…My good friend Susan Mangigian loaded a song on Facebook today that I have always thought was perfect for Kyle by Rascal Flats entitled “My Wish”.

    I’m so thankful that you are writing from your heart Adam. While doing so, you are touching so many others. Hugs from Huntsville 🙂

    • Your story is truly inspiring, Elizabeth. I hope that this poem sparks something in him. It must be very difficult to continue to give so much of yourself without the response that all parents seek. I’m glad to hear that he’s getting better. Thank you for being a part of this blog, and for your kind words and show of support. I really appreciate it.

  2. Adam that is a beautiful poem! I took what ended up being a working vacation to Tucson for the holidays and won’t return home until Wednesday and like you I am VERY anxious to get 2010 going to make it the best it can be. I have many plans and goals and with posts like yours and a great support/accountability system I will stick with those plans and goals.

    Thank you for sharing your insights with us and reminding us to be grateful. One of the new things I’m doing this year is a gratitude journal. I have a gratitude rock in my Tahoe and the boys and I start our mornings taking the rock and saying one thing we are grateful for. I want to expand that to a journal.

    You will be everything you want to be in 2010! I have not doubt about that.

    • I love the idea of the gratitude rock with your kids, Sandy. My son has been a big part of this, as he has the capacity to understand what has happened. I think that your journal is a great idea too. This blog is really just my open journal to the world. Thankfully, people are responding to it, which means that I have no choice but to keep doing it, which creates the accountability that I was looking for. Thanks for sharing. Talk to you soon.

  3. I love your poem and it is so true. We so often get caught up in coulda, would shoulda and forget to notice the here and now! Reminders of our own fragile mortality can and should be a wake up call to seize the moments we too often wish away! Thanks for sharing your moments with us!

    • Thanks Vanessa. I’ve spent a lot of time getting caught up in the things that you mentioned. And though I’ve had other “aha” moments in my life, I don’t think that any have hit home as hard as this one.

  4. I thought of your poem as I got out of bed this morning. Last night Seth asked if I’d come have lunch at school today. I knew about the pending storm coming and still said yes. As I kissed him good-bye at his classroom today (he did ASTOUNDINGLY well for having had 2 weeks off!!), he asked again if I’d walk back up. I didn’t skip a beat…”yes, I promise.” So, weather won’t put my life on hold. It’s 16* out and Sadie got her beloved walk when I got home. It will probably get up to about 18* over the next 1-1/2 hours before I start my walk back up to school and I wouldn’t miss it for the world. I had drive where Seth is concerned long before ^Olivia^ entered my world, but now, that drive is unstoppable.
    Elizabeth, if you’re reading this, know that every step you help him take forward or back is a step he couldn’t take without you. I recently came across a family who should be ASHAMED of themselves for the number of times they apologized to me for how their severely autistic adult son was behaving. He was just being Justin.

    • Thanks for sharing this Beth. I’ve been doing things now that I would have possibly put off before, and it feels good to do it. For a while now, my wife has been pushing me to start walking or doing some exercise, and it felt like nagging at times. Now I actually look forward to my daily walk. We’re supposed to get record-breaking low temperatures this week in my area. I’ll just wear more layers and go walking anyway. Truth be told, the cold feels good to me. Makes things feel more “normal” (for lack of a better word). Talk to you soon.

  5. Adam… you truly have a gift for the written word. I enjoy reading your blog and always look forward to the next post.

    • Thanks Susan. I really appreciate it. We should talk in the next few days or so. I had a couple of questions about the blog that I wanted to ask you about.

Leave a Reply

